Hoosier Cancer Research Network on Facebook

Hoosier Cancer Research Network on Facebook

OnCore Login
Login to Oncore Network

Login to Oncore Network

Hoosier Cancer Research Network on Facebook

Hoosier Cancer Research Network on Facebook

HCRN honors four with annual awards

Hoosier Cancer Research Network honored four individuals for their outstanding contributions to clinical research and advocacy during its annual holiday and awards dinner Nov. 30 in Indianapolis.

Rhoda Loman, a clinical research specialist at the Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Cancer Center, and Maggie Uhrich, RN, BSN, OCN, a thoracic oncology research nurse at the IU Simon Cancer Center, each received the 2017 Sandra Turner Excellence in Clinical Research Award.

Neda Hashemi Sadraei, MD, a third year fellow and chief fellow in hematology/oncology at the Indiana University School of Medicine, received the 2017 George and Sarah Jane Fisher Young Investigator Award.

Teresa Altemeyer, a patient advocate and board chair of the Indiana Chapter of the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, received the 2016-2017 Terry Hoeppner Patient Advocacy Award. Watch: Teresa Altemeyer shares comments upon receiving the Terry Hoeppner Award in this video.

Visit the HCRN website over the next few weeks to read stories highlighting each award winner.

Pictured, from left: HCRN Chairman Christopher A. Fausel, PharmD; Rhoda Loman; Maggie Uhrich, RN, BSN, OCN; Neda Hashemi Sadraei, MD; Teresa Altemeyer; IU Simon Cancer Center Director Patrick J. Loehrer, Sr., MD

About the awards:

Dr. William B. Fisher established the Sandra Turner Excellence in Clinical Research Award in 2002 in memory of Sandra Turner, the first executive director of Hoosier Cancer Research Network. Each year, HCRN selects individuals for the award who exemplify the qualities Sandra possessed and respected in others, such as sustained professional commitment, contribution to the progress of oncology care, and the unflinching touch of compassion.

Established in 2011 by Dr. William B. Fisher, the George and Sarah Jane Fisher Young Investigator Award honors Indiana University oncology fellows and faculty members who have made significant contributions to clinical or basic science research in collaboration with Hoosier Cancer Research Network.

Terry Hoeppner, beloved Indiana University football coach, lost his battle with brain cancer in 2007. Coach Hep was known for his “never quit” attitude and determination to face challenges head-on. To honor his memory, his wife, Jane Hoeppner, created the Terry Hoeppner Patient Advocacy Award. The award honors individuals who embody Coach Hep’s spirit and determination to champion their cause.

About Hoosier Cancer Research Network:

Hoosier Cancer Research Network (formerly known as Hoosier Oncology Group) conducts innovative cancer research in partnership with academic and community physicians and scientists across the United States and internationally. The organization provides comprehensive clinical trial management and support, from conception through publication. Created in 1984 as a program of the Walther Cancer Institute, Hoosier Cancer Research Network became an independent nonprofit clinical research organization in 2007. Since its founding, Hoosier Cancer Research Network has initiated more than 160 trials in a variety of cancer types and supportive care, resulting in more than 350 publications. More than 5,000 subjects have participated in Hoosier Cancer Research Network clinical trials.